Infertile

Infertility is the inability to conceive a child. A couple may be considered infertile if, after two years of regular sexual intercourse, without contraception, the woman has not become pregnant (and there is no other reason, such as breastfeeding or postpartum amenorrhoea). WHO, 2013

According to the world health organization as of the 18th of April I was officially infertile.  I am feeling surprisingly ok about it so far. But ask me again when my next AF arrives and the stabbing cramps return with her.

6 thoughts on “Infertile

  1. Sorry about both the IUIs.

    Endometriosis is not only a fertility-challenger, but painful too. I hope your doc has a good plan of action for you. Wishing you much luck.

  2. You mean according to WHO I haven’t been infertile all this time? I have four months to go. It’s nice to hear you’re feeling ok about it -even if only for a while. I hope it continues for you.

    I came across your blog at ICLW. Your title captured my interest. I work with pregnant/birthing/mothers of young infants too. My chosen job feels like a bad joke some times.

    Best of luck.

  3. I’m so sorry 😦

    This is a very specific definition and it’s not totally accurate. I was classed as infertile because nearly 2 yrs after we started trying [that was nearly 15 years ago], we still hadn’t fallen pregnant and then we did but lost baby after baby but yet this definition of infertile, doesn’t cover people like myself who can get pregnant but cannot carry to term, though I AM classed as infertile and suffering from infertility.

    I think this is where “fertile” people get confused because infertility isn’t just about not being able to conceive – my cousin actually told me that I wasn’t infertile because I had managed to fall pregnant, “well you can get pregnant, so you’re not infertile!!” – it covers a much broader range of reproduction.

    I hope you get your arms filled sooner rather than later x

    • I don’t really like the term infertile actually and that’s why I’ve titled this blog the fertility challenged midwife rather than infertile. I don’t like it because as you say it’s so misunderstood in society and also because of the finality of it. I hear infertile and think of the end, that’s it once your infertile you will never have babies. But many women who receive this diagnosis go on to have healthy babies. I hope I can kick the label sooner rather than later and I hope you get your take home baby soon. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

